How Joint USA, Canada, Mexico 2026 World Cup Bid Beat Morocco - Mc Ebisco

Wednesday, 13 June 2018

How Joint USA, Canada, Mexico 2026 World Cup Bid Beat Morocco

The 2026 FIFA World Cup has been awarded to the joint bid of United States of America, Mexico and Canada by the executive committee of the world governing body after a vote at the 69th FIFA Congress in Moscow on Wednesday.

The United Bid received 134 votes, Morocco received 65 votes while one country voted for neither.

A total of 210 members were present and eligible to vote but seven abstained. They are the four countries directly involved (USA, Canada, Mexico and Morocco) and three US-governed territories (Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa and the US Virgin Islands).

Both bids were permitted to make a presentation for 15 minutes to the FIFA members immediately before the vote.

The highlight of the United Bid featured a youth team player from each of the three nations, beginning with a moving tale by 17-year-old Canadian Alphonso Davies, who spoke about how his family had been welcomed after fleeing civil war in Africa.

The three federation (USA, Canada, Mexico) chiefs also spoke, with Carlos Cordeiro, the American Soccer Administrator strongly emphasizing the profitability of a North American tournament, promising $11 billion in revenues.

Morocco’s presentation took some not-so-subtle shots at the US, highlighting the fact that guns are banned in Morocco and stating that during the 1994 World Cup even world-renowned soccer stars were unknown in America.

The US hosted the 1994 World Cup, while Mexico hosted in 1970 and 1986. Canada has never hosted the tournament.

The next FIFA Congress which will be the 69th is scheduled for Paris on 5 June, 2019.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Promote Your Music, Video, Comedy Skit Here On Mc Ebisco

Call Only:- +2348051168989 or +2348143309869